HSC Home  |  Search  |  Go HSC

The University of Oklahoma

Office of the Senior Vice President and Provost

Meet the Provost

Jason R. Sanders, MD, MBA
Interim Senior Vice President and Provost

Jason R. Sanders, MD, MBA has been appointed as the Interim Senior Vice President and Provost by the President and Board of Regents effective June 1, 2015.  He has overall responsibility for the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center colleges and programs. 

Dr. Sanders maintains a clinical practice in Internal Medicine with OU Physicians, teaches medical students and residents, and is a member of the University Hospitals Authority and Trust, including the Governing Committee for OU Medical System.

Dr. Sanders graduated with honors from the University of Oklahoma with a B.S. in Biochemistry in 2000.  He was selected as a Rhodes Scholar to the prestigious Trinity College, Oxford University and received a Master’s of Art in English Language and Literature in 2003.  He graduated from Harvard Medical School and Harvard Business School with distinction in 2008, and was Harvard University’s first combined MD/MBA program graduate.  In 2009, Dr. Sanders completed an internship in the Department of Medicine at Massachusetts General Hospital.  Afterwards, Dr. Sanders gained experience in the private sector as a consultant with McKinsey & Company, a leading international consulting firm, focusing his practice on major health care organizations, including hospitals, payors, and pharmaceutical companies. In 2011, he returned to the Massachusetts General Hospital to complete residency training in Internal Medicine, and during that time worked with health system leaders on care redesign and population health.

He lives with his wife Tammy and two sons in Oklahoma City.